Discussion Forum
Work space and Wifi in Hebden Bridge

From Hugh Wilson
Wednesday, 22 July 2009

Hi to all. I'm moving to Hebden in a few weeks and am on the lookout for some cheap-ish desk space. That's all I really need - a desk and some access to the internet (I'm a journalist/copywriter). A co-working space would be fine (i.e. a shared drop-in space) and I know there has been some discussion of this on the forum, but I'm not sure if the idea has got off the ground.

The space can be anywhere within a few miles of Hebden. If anyone has any information, I'd be very grateful.

Alternatively, or perhaps as well, do any of the cafes/pubs/bars in Hebden offer free Wifi (or indeed Wifi)? Again, I believe this has been touched upon before here but some time ago, so again, any up-to-date information gratefully received.

Many thanks,
Hugh

From Andrew McCall
Saturday, 25 July 2009

Hi Hugh

I'm still very keen and making progress on getting a Coworking space going.

Coincidentally you've brought it back up just as I've come to post a quick update.

Yesterday I had a very positive meeting about cooperative loan funding and if everything continues to come together we'll be aiming for a September/October launch.

The space will be run as a cooperative primarily for the benefit of the creative professional residents (or members) but will also welcome and support day users and anyone else that just needs a desk or some ad hoc meeting space. Any profits will be reinvested into the facillities our goal being sustainability in both a green and economic sense.

Tentatively we've been calling it The Collaboratory.

In the meantime if you, or anyone else for that matter, hasn't already taken the survey any input would be extremely helpful and I appreciate it. Additionally if you've got any other questions or comments please let me know either here or email me directly.

From Hugh Wilson
Monday, 27 July 2009

Hi Andrew,