Ryburne

Small ads

Busking and amplification

From Ruby M

Wednesday, 11 April 2012

I am a busker, I sing and play guitar - if I don't amplify my voice, I could very easily strain it as you naturally sing louder if you can't hear yourself. Music is what I do and I would hate to think i'd offended someone by being too loud, but I can't really risk my livelihood by pushing my voice. I know there are some buskers who think they're playing in a rock stadium (they do the same thing in venues as well as on the streets) but wouldn't amplification be alright if it was kept at a moderate level?

From Mick Coughlan

Wednesday, 11 April 2012

Hi Ruby.

A hornet's nest as I am sure you are aware. Clearly the problem has been caused by performers playing to Wembly whilst actually playing to Hebden Bridge Square.

I am a musician too, though not a busker and have experienced this attitude first hand. We played a venue when at the first guitar strum of the sound check the phone rang behind the bar to complain it was too loud! The landlady knew who it was before answering as they did this every Saturday night. We too did not play as loud as some, but clearly too loud for others.

Maybe an idea would be to visit the retailers around where you intend playing and let them know you are trying to be sensitive and that they can ask you to turn it down if they think it is too loud. In any performance contact is the key to success and if there are shops nearby - the staff are part of your audience - like it or not.

Best of luck

Mick

From Jae Campbell

Wednesday, 11 April 2012

Busking is a very emotive subject locally both for and against. There are two major problems for local people around busking - the first is an excessive use of amplification (which is against the law) and the other is limited repertoire (or lack of musical ability) made worse by some buskers overstaying their welcome by playing in the same spot for more than an hour.